FEB UI History

Universitas Indonesia is a combination of the Center of Universitas Indonesia and Universiteit van Indonesie. At first, economics education is still a department of social economics in the Faculty of Law and Community Science. But as soon as the UI Foundation, Ministry of Culture and Education decided to open the Faculty of Economics and Business to give an answer to its own needs. In contrast to some other faculties such as the Faculty of Medicine, the Faculty of Engineering or Faculty of Law in the Indonesia University (UI) environment, which is derived from several college established already by the Government of the Netherland Government since the 1920s, embryo of FEB UI appeared after the proclamation of Indonesia independence. FEB UI was born when the Republic of Indonesia was five years old, so it is not surprising that birth of FEB UI was still covered by thick shades of newly independent of Indonesia. To answer the demands that raised in the early days of independence and it is felt the need for a higher education institution that can generate the experts of the economy and the management of the company to build a new Indonesia free from colonialism, then FEB UI was established.

Interwoven of FEB UI story commenced on September 18, 1950, when the Social-Economic Department of Faculty Law of Indonesia University (FHUI) separated itself to become the Faculty of Economics and Business-UI (FEB UI). At the same time the National Academy student who also studied the Economic Sciences join the new faculty. They then become a first generation students in FEB UI. Uniquely, the 300 students are taught by the number of teaching staff that was very limited, and any administrative affairs were handled by the students themselves. Starting from that, then September 18, 1950, is officially designated as the anniversary of FEB UI. It can be said that FEB UI is the oldest higher education institution of economic in Indonesia. Up to now, FEB UI has been led by 15 Deans, namely:

  • Prof. MR. R. Soenario Kolopaking (1950-1951)
  • Prof. Dr. Soemitro Djojohadikoesoemo (1951-1957)
  • Prof. Mr. Djoko Soetono (1958-1962)
  • Prof. Rd. Soeriatmadja (1962-1964)
  • Prof. Dr. Widjojo Nitisastro (1964-1968)
  • Prof. Ali Wardhana (1968-1978)
  • Dr. Djunaedi Hadisumarto (1978-1984)
  • Prof. Dr. Wagiono Ismangil (1984-1988)
  • Prof. Dr. Mohammad Arsjad Anwar (1988-1994)
  • Prof. Dr. Dorodjatun Kuntjoro-Jakti (1994-1997)
  • Prof. Dr. Anwar Nasution (1997-2001)
  • Aditiawan Chandra, PhD (2001-2005)
  • Prof. Bambang P.S. Brodjonegoro, PhD (2005-2009)
  • Prof. Firmanzah, S.E., M.M., Ph.D (2009-2012)
  • Jossy P. Moeis, Ph.D (2012-2013)
  • Prof. Ari Kuncoro, S.E., M.A., Ph.D (2013-sekarang)

Pilihan Bahasa : enEnglish idIndonesian